12 Feb 2020, 09:57 am 997 Views Saurabh

Krittika Nakshatra in Vedic Astrology – All you wanted to know !

Krittika – The one who cuts

Your nakshatra is Krittika since Moon was in Krittika nakshatra at the time of your birth.

Location: 26.40 Aries to 10.00 Taurus
Ruler: Sun
Symbol: Razor
Deity: Agni
Varna: Priest
Alphabets: Aa, Ee, Oo, Ay

The STAR OF FIRE . Sharp, piercing and penetrating.

People with this nakshatra have a sharp wit and can be sarcastic and critical.

They are proud, ambitious and determined.

They are passionate warriors.

As Karttikeya was nurtured and protected, there is a protective tendency in them. They seem to adopt and care for children not their own. Their need to protect is where the warrior comes out.

They are stubborn, aggressive and can be very angry. This nakshatra rules war, battles, and disputes. Since Agni is the ruling deity, these people have fast metabolisms and good digestion, and are usually good cooks.

They have frequent ups and downs in life.

Their passions can lead them to illicit sexual affairs.They are bigger than life and can rise to a place of fame and prominence.


The Ancient Sages divided the zodiac(apart from twelve signs) into 27 Nakshatras or constellations of 13.20 degrees each. Nakshatra ( constellations ) have their reference in the ancient Vedic scriptures. As per the Hindu mythology, all the twenty seven Nakshatras are the daughters of king Daksha. Moon is married to all of them. Moon spends approximately one day each in one constellation and thus lunar month is of approximately of 27 days equal to the numbers of Nakshatras.Nakshatras are classified as per several attributes like its owner, deity, sex, caste, species etc. The Moon’s Nakshatra at the time of birth, is called Birth Nakshatra. These Nakshatras are further subdivided into four elements known as Padaa, each of 3.20 degrees ( knows as Navamsa). The placement of planets in these padas or subdivisions is studied for finer predictions. Each zodiac sign covers nine Padaas in total. Thus we can see that Nakshatras are used for various purposes. One of its major uses is to determine starting point of a dasa or planetary period that divide the time in major periods and sub periods, and to choosing a muhurtha or auspicious time for any important activity.